Harford County Drama Students Gather for Annual “HCPS Dramafest”

From Harford County Public Schools:

On Wednesday, January 30th over 300 students from drama classes around Harford County gathered in the Amoss Center at Harford Technical High School for the annual HCPS Dramafest. This event, sponsored through the school system’s English / Language Arts Department, allows advanced drama students to perform short drama presentations for their peers throughout the county. Students from each high school were represented.

This year, 9 “Ten-Minute Plays” were presented by the attending schools. During the performances, audience members were asked to record observations that will be compiled and returned to each school’s director. The following plays were presented:

“Blind Date” by Samara Siskind – Bel Air High School
Chuck Bowden – Director

“Sorry, Wrong Number” by Louise Fletcher – C. Milton Wright High School
Gaylynn Price – Director

“Chartreuse” by Lindsay Miller – Edgewood High School
Dawn Sinclair – Director

“10,000 Cigarettes” by Alex Broun – Fallston High School
John Connelly, IV – Director

“Check, Please” by Jonathan Rand – Harford Technical High School
Jessica Brockmeyer – Director

“Ten Minute Hamlet” – Havre de Grace High School
Andrea Sarsfield-Fischer – Director

“As the Stomach Turns: Part 2” by Carol Burnett – Joppatowne High School
Robert Bands – Director

“The Chocolate Affair” by Stephanie Allen Walker– North Harford High School
Nancy Green – Director

“Picture Day” by Laurie Allen – Patterson Mill High School
Shane Jensen – Director

Following the performances, students participated in a series of improvisation games and activities led by the drama instructors.

Students from each school are now gearing up for the upcoming North East Theatre Festival being held at Bel Air High School on February 15th and 16th. This event is a regional gathering of drama troupes from the area northeast of Baltimore and the surrounding areas. It is a gathering of Drama students, local professionals and college theatre instructors that includes mainstage presentations, workshops and adjudicated events.